Lectures, Special Programs and CLE

The Hon. Robert A. Ainsworth, Jr., Lecture

Friends and admirers of the late Honorable Robert A. Ainsworth, Jr., have endowed a lecture series inviting distinguished speakers to appear annually at the College of Law. Judge Ainsworth served as a judge on the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Louisiana and as a judge on the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit. The following distinguished jurists have been guest lecturers: Warren E. Burger, Chief Justice of the United States; William H. Webster, Former Judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit and Former Director of the F.B.I.; John R. Brown, Chief Judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit; Kenneth F. Ripple, Judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit; Charles E. Roemer, III, Former Governor of the State of Louisiana; Lewis F. Powell, Jr., Associate Justice, Retired, of the U.S. Supreme Court; John Minor Wisdom, Senior Judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit; Kenneth W. Starr, Former U.S. Solicitor General; Antonin Scalia, Associate Justice of the U.S. Supreme Court; Henry A. Kissinger, Former U.S. Secretary of State; Deanell Tacha, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit; Guido Calabresi, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit; Patrick E. Higginbotham, Judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit; Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Associate Justice of the U.S. Supreme Court; Judith Resnik of Yale Law School; and Alison L. Lecroix of the University of Chicago Law School.  

Brendan Brown Natural Law Institute and Lecture

The Brendan Brown Natural Law Institute, established through the generosity of the late Brendan Brown, a faculty member in the College of Law, sponsors a major annual lecture, colloquia, and other scholarly activities in keeping with Professor Brown’s love of the natural law and scholarly discourse.

Bernard J. Ward Jurist in Residence

This program was established through a gift from 1949 Loyola law graduate the Honorable Adrian G. Duplantier in memory of his former classmate, Bernard J. Ward, also a 1949 graduate of the College of Law. Professor Ward served on the faculty at Loyola, Notre Dame, and the University of Texas. He also served for many years as the reporter for the Advisory Committee on Civil Rules for the Judicial Conference of the United States. The program serves to bring an esteemed jurist to the law school to speak to and interact with the students.

Loyola Chapter of American Inns of Court

In 1988, Loyola College of Law organized and sponsored a chapter of the American Inns of Court, which was chartered on June 10, 1988, as the Thomas More Inn of Court. Although sponsored by Loyola, the Inn’s membership consists of prominent judges and lawyers, Loyola professors, and Loyola law students. 

The American Inns of Court movement was chartered in 1985. The founders were seeking to establish in America some of the values of the English Inns of Court. The AIC concept seeks to encourage excellence in the litigation practice, with particular emphasis on the development of litigation skills, ethics, civility, professionalism, and the transfer from one generation to another of the very best traditions of American litigation.

Continuing Legal Education

The Continuing Legal Education office was founded in 1982. Under the direction of the director and an assistant, Continuing Legal Education offers courses on a wide range of legal topics for the practitioner who desires to keep abreast of the latest legal developments.

CLE sponsors live and online programs during the year and draws registrants from across the country. Practitioners and judges from Louisiana and other parts of the country serve as guest lecturers. The student body and law faculty are invited to attend these courses free of charge.

The Hon. Michaelle Pitard Wynne Distinguished Visiting Professorship Series

The Wynne Visiting Professorships were established in memory of the Hon. Michaelle P. Wynne, a 1970 law graduate. Lead gifts were made by the Hon. Adrian g. Duplantier, L’49, Theodore M. Frois, L’69, the Hon. T. Hartley Kingsmill, L’48, and the Federal Bar Association. The following have served as Wynne visiting professors:

  • 2012 – 2013:  Ken and Elspeth Reid
  • 2011 – 2012:  Michael Rainer
  • 2009 – 2010:  M. Guarino
  • 2008 – 2010:  Sanghan Wang
  • 2007 – 2008:  Joel Moneger
  • 2004 – 2005:  Tim O’Brien
  • 2003 – 2004:  Tim O’Brien and Peter Klik
  • 2002 – 2003:  Gabor Hamza and Obrad Stanojevic
  • 2001 – 2002:  Gabor Hamza
  • 2000 – 2001:  Obrad Stanojevic
  • 1999 – 2000:  Gabor Hamza
  • 1998 – 1999:  Saul Litvinoff